SWIFT: deploying green assets to power the energy transition

Accueil / Expertise / SWIFT

An impact strategy to accelerate the transition to a low-carbon economy

Created in 2019 with the backing of mutual and proprietary insurance companies, our impact strategy centred on biomethane has expanded its focus since 2021 to include hydrogen and green fuels. This pioneering strategy combines financial returns and measurable environmental impact in a fast-growing industry that has significantly gained in maturity.

SWIFT

Decarbonising hard-to-abate sectors

Our SWIFT strategy helps to fund tangible solutions to decarbonising energy demands that are currently met by fossil fuels using oil and natural gas and that cannot be shifted to electricity. For the high-temperature heat needed by heavy industry or some forms of mobility, such as heavy duty mobility, aviation and marine transport. The SWIFT strategy also addresses the emissions from the agricultural sector.

SWIFT

Creating local employment

Implementing these green assets locally not only reduces dependency on imported fossil fuels but also creates employment in sectors of the future that will gradually become essential to the economy and give life to an entire ecosystem.

SWIFT

A team with unique expertise in this industry

Our team has extensive experience with direct investment in renewable energies, which is has gained by working with large industrial groups in gas and energy as well as large financial institutions. This dual expertise combined with specialised knowledge of the sector enables us to source quality over-the-counter investments and closely monitor operational aspects throughout the project life cycle, from development to operation.

A strategy dedicated to fighting climate change

Governments and businesses are constantly underscoring and upgrading their pledges to the environment, and civil society demands that these commitments be upheld. To fund the global energy transition, $37 billion must be invested by 2030, of which $18 billion has yet to be committed. Progress has been made or is under way in sectors such as electricity production, but it only accounts for half of final energy consumption and cannot, under any circumstances, satisfy all energy needs.

Reaching climate goals will necessarily include reducing energy consumption – through efforts to raise energy efficiency and shrink demand – and developing new green assets. Because biomethane, hydrogen and other green gases contribute to meeting these challenges, while generating other positive externalities linked to sustainable development and regional resilience, and because of the significant growth they are experiencing in Europe and North America, we have dedicated our SWIFT strategy to these green fuels.

42 transactions carried out since the first vintage year

200+ biomethane and hydrogen production plants funded

≈2m tonnes of CO2 avoided through our investments

Our investments

Newheat

Independent producer of renewable heat in France to decarbonise the heating needs of manufacturers and buildings

Learn more

Vireo

Norwegian biomethane producer serving a fast-growing market

Learn more

Arcadia eFuels

An international developer of e-fuel to decarbonise the aviation sector

Learn more

Sustainable Fuel Plant Group

Contributing to the expansion of the leading independent developer of large-scale biomethane facilities in the Netherlands

Learn more

Our investment team

Olivier AUBERT

Managing Director

François PASQUIER

Managing Director

Emmanuel SIMON

Managing Director

Thibauld THUILLEZ

Investment Director

Charles VALLÉE

Investment Director

Charlotte VIRALLY

Investment Director

Guillaume TUFFIGO

Head of Asset Management

Grégoire ALLEMANDOU

Principal

Maurice PIGNARD

Principal

Solène CANCEILL

Senior Associate

Gabrielle HUBERT

Senior Associate

Antoine EUDIER

Associate

Our investment expertise

Private equity

MULTI-STRATEGY PRIVATE EQUITY

A diversified range offering private access to the best sustainable funds and assets in Europe.

Learn more

Ocean impact

Blue Ocean

SWEN BLUE OCEAN

An impact investment strategy that invests directly in startups whose innovations are helping to regenerate ocean health.

Learn more

Tech for Good

SWEN Private Equity Multi-stratégie

VENTURE CAPITAL TECH FOR GOOD

An innovative approach to fund the growth of Tech for Good players and promote innovations for Nature’s benefit.

Learn more

Infrastructure

MULTI-STRATEGY INFRASTRUCTURE

A multi-strategy and co-investment expertise to finance tomorrow’s infrastructure for a sustainable economy.

Learn more

Mezzanine debt

MEZZANINE DEBT

A flexible approach of private debt combining mezzanine debt and equity while keeping ESG at the heart of financing.

Learn more

SWIFT : accompagner la transition énergétique par le déploiement d’actifs verts

Accueil / Expertise / SWIFT

Une stratégie à impact pour accélérer la décarbonation de l’économie

Créée en 2019, notre stratégie a pour cœur de métier les investissements dans le secteur du biométhane et s’est élargie depuis à l’hydrogène et aux carburants verts. Pionnière dans son domaine, notre stratégie concilie ainsi recherche de performance financière et d’impact environnemental réel, dans un secteur en pleine croissance qui a gagné en maturité.

SWIFT

Réduire les émissions des secteurs difficiles à décarboner

La stratégie SWIFT finance des solutions concrètes pour décarboner des besoins énergétiques actuellement satisfaits par les hydrocarbures fossiles (produits pétroliers et gaz naturel) qui ne peuvent pas être couverts par l’électricité. C’est le cas des besoins en chaleur à haute température dans l’industrie lourde ou de certaines formes de mobilité pour lesquelles les batteries électriques ne sont pas une solution viable, comme dans le transport de marchandises, l’aviation ou le maritime, mais encore des émissions du secteur agricole.

SWIFT

Créer des emplois dans les territoires

Le déploiement de ces projets, au cœur des territoires, permet non seulement de limiter la dépendance aux importations d’énergies fossiles, mais aussi de créer les emplois de demain dans des secteurs qui deviennent progressivement essentiels et dynamisent dans leur sillon tout un écosystème.

SWIFT

Une équipe unique dans le secteur

L’équipe bénéficie d’une vaste expérience dans l’investissement direct dans le secteur des énergies renouvelables, tant au sein de grands groupes industriels du secteur gazier ou de l’énergie que dans de grandes institutions financières. L’alliance de cette double compétence et sa connaissance pointue du secteur lui permettent de sourcer de gré-à-gré des investissements de qualité et d’assurer un suivi opérationnel performant tout au long du cycle de vie des projets, du développement à l’exploitation.

Une stratégie dédiée à la lutte contre le changement climatique

Les engagements pour la protection de l’environnement sont constamment soulignés et renforcés par les autorités publiques, ainsi que par le monde des affaires : la société civile a des exigences fortes pour qu’ils soient honorés. 37 milliards de dollars doivent être investis d’ici 2030 pour financer la transition énergétique mondiale, dont 18 milliards doivent encore être engagés. Des efforts ont été faits ou sont en cours dans des secteurs tels que la production d’électricité, qui ne représentent néanmoins que la moitié de la consommation finale d’énergie et ne peut, en aucune circonstance, répondre à tous les besoins énergétiques.

Atteindre les objectifs de lutte contre le changement climatique impliquera donc nécessairement la réduction de la consommation d’énergie – par l’efficacité énergétique et la sobriété – et le développement de nouveaux actifs verts. C’est parce que le biométhane, l’hydrogène et d’autres molécules vertes abordent ces défis, en plus d’autres externalités positives liées au développement durable et à la résilience des territoires, qu’ils connaissent une croissance significative en Europe et en Amérique du Nord aujourd’hui et que notre stratégie SWIFT y est dédiée.

42 transactions réalisées depuis le premier millésime

+ 200 unités de production de biométhane et d’hydrogène financées

≈ 2M tonnes de CO2 évitées grâce à nos investissements

Nos investissements

Newheat

Producteur indépendant de chaleur renouvelable en France pour décarboner les besoins des industriels et des bâtiments

En savoir plus

Arcadia eFuels

Un développeur international d'e-carburants afin de décarboner le secteur de l'aviation

En savoir plus

Sustainable Fuel Plant Group

Contribuer à l’expansion du principal développeur indépendant d’installations de biométhane à grande échelle aux Pays-Bas

En savoir plus

Notre équipe d'investissement

Olivier AUBERT

Directeur de gestion

François PASQUIER

Directeur de gestion

Emmanuel SIMON

Directeur de gestion

Thibauld THUILLEZ

Directeur d'investissement

Charles VALLÉE

Directeur d’investissement

Charlotte VIRALLY

Directrice d'investissement

Guillaume TUFFIGO

Directeur de l'Asset Management

Grégoire ALLEMANDOU

Directeur de participations

Maurice PIGNARD

Directeur de participations

Solène CANCEILL

Chargée d’affaires senior

Gabrielle HUBERT

Chargée d’affaires senior

Antoine EUDIER

Chargé d’affaires

Nos expertises d'investissement

Private Equity

PRIVATE EQUITY MULTI-STRATÉGIE

Une gamme d'investissement diversifiée offrant un accès privilégié aux meilleurs fonds et actifs durables européens.

En savoir plus

Impact Océan

Blue Ocean

SWEN BLUE OCEAN

Une stratégie d'investissement à impact qui investit en direct dans des start-ups dont les innovations participent à la régénération de la santé des océans.

En savoir plus

Tech for Good

SWEN Private Equity Multi-stratégie

VENTURE CAPITAL TECH FOR GOOD

Une démarche innovante pour financer la croissance de la Tech for Good et favoriser les innovations au service de la Nature.

En savoir plus

Infrastructures

INFRASTRUCTURE MULTI-STRATÉGIE

Une expertise multi-stratégie et de co-investissement pour financer les infrastructures de demain au bénéfice d’une économie durable.

En savoir plus

Dette mezzanine

DETTE MEZZANINE

Une approche flexible de la dette privée qui mêle dette mezzanine et fonds propres et place l’ESG au cœur du financement.

En savoir plus